Fortnite Season 5 Patch Notes: Release Time, Map, Star Wars, Mandalorian, Galactus, Battle Pass, Black Hole 2 and more!

Fortnite Chapter 2 Season 4 is almost at an end, with Season 5 starting on Wednesday, 2 December.

It's going to massive, thanks to Season 4 ending in style with a massive Galactus Event that ended in a countdown to the new season.

Jump To

Here's everything you need to know about Fortnite Season 5.

Advertisement

Fortnite Season 5 Countdown After Galactus Event

The Fortnite Galactus Event shook the entire game on 1 December, and will now lead right into Fortnite Season 5!

After the stunning fight, players were left with the message "To be continued in Season 5".

READ MORE: Twitch DOWN After Fortnite Galactus Event

Beside this message is a countdown to Season 5, which will kick off on 2 December for all regions!

Here is when Fortnite Season 5 will begin for each time zone!

  • 1am PST
  • 2am MST
  • 3am CST
  • 4am EST
  • 6am UTC-3
  • 9am GMT, UTC
  • 10am CET
  • 12pm MSK
  • 1pm UTC+4
  • 2:30pm IST
  • 5pm CST
  • 6pm JST
  • 8pm AEDT
  • 10pm NZDT
Advertisement

There will be four hours of scheduled downtime before Fortnite Season 5 goes live.

Players Drive The Battle Bus During Galactus Event

It has now been confirmed by Epic Games that players will be able to drive the Battle Bus as part of the upcoming Galactus event.

Recently they have been hinting at it, such as by showing Gamma Cells loaded in the Battle Bus, presumably to use the bus as an RC missile.

Fortnite Galactus Event Battle Bus Ride Tweet
click to enlarge
+ 7
CONFIRMED: Players will drive the Battle Bus during the Galactus event.

In the tweet it shows three Battle Buses flying through the night sky with the caption "You do know how to drive the Battle Bus.. right?"

Fortnite Galactus Release Date Skin Items Gamma Cells
click to enlarge
+ 7
PREPARE: The biggest galactic threat is coming to Fortnite to take on the Marvel heroes

The Fortnite characters have loaded the buses with Gamma Cells, could these be enough to take down Galactus and save the Fortnite map?

With the event being the biggest yet, 4GB in size compared to the Black Hole event which was 480MB, it seems this will be a long event with many twists and turns.

Advertisement

When Does Season 4 End?

Fortnite Chapter 2 Season 4 was due to end on November 30th.

Since then the date has been pushed around before finally being confirmed to end on December 2nd.

READ MORE: Fortnite Season 5: 5 Things We’d Like To See Next Season! New Map, Mobility, Zone Wars, Unreal Engine 5

Galactus Is On The Map

We have gotten our first glimpse of Galactus on the Fortnite map.

Showed by FortTory, players can see Galactus' horns rising from the water off the coast to the east of Sweaty Sands.

Fortnite Galactus Horns Water
click to enlarge
+ 7

Judging by the small amount of the horns that are peaking above the water, Galactus is going to be huge.

He will likely be as big as the Travis Scott character model in that event, maybe even taller.

Advertisement
click to enlarge
+ 7

New Map?

With Galactus destroying the Chapter 2 map, it is expected that Season 5 will bring a hybrid map of Chapter 1 and Chapter 2.

REMIX: The map is expected to be a remixed version of Chapter 1 and 2. This is a fan made creation, not a leaked map.

Advertisement
Map COncept 1 min 1
click to enlarge
+ 7

The map will have a new design and will blend the best parts of each map, with many POIs returning, such as Tilted Towers.

Battle Pass

Advertisement

Players can expect to pay 950 V-Bucks (£7.50 / $9.50) for the Battle Pass.

Over the course of the current season, you are able to earn enough Vbucks to purchase the Battle Pass for Season 6.

Along with the standard Battle Pass option, there will also be the Battle Pass Bundle option.

It appears that Season 5 won't be a themed Battle Pass and will instead go back to original Fortnite characters.

However, much like Chapter 2 Season 2 and 3, there will be a collaborative secret skin.

In Season 2 the secret skin was Deadpool, and in Season 3 it was Aquaman.

Epic Games accidentally revealed that the Season 4 secret skin will be the Mandalorian from the hit Disney+ show of the same name.

Fortnite Season 5 Battle Pass Leak ShiinaBR
click to enlarge
+ 7
LEAKED: Epic Games accidentally leaked that the Mandalorian will be the Season 5 secret skin.

In addition to the Mandalorian, Baby Yoda/The Child will be the back bling for the skin.

Advertisement

This wouldn't be the first time that Epic Games has collaborated with Star Wars.

In December 2019 a Star Wars event was held to promote the release of Star Wars Episode 9: The Rise of Skywalker.

Star Wars is owned by Disney, like Marvel, which is likely the reason for the heavy focus on both the Star Wars and Marvel franchises.

There is also currently an offer where players that purchase V-Bucks in-game will receive 2 free months of Disney+.

The Mandalorian is the flagship show of Disney+ so this could further draw attention to the platform.

Crew Pack

In a blog post the Crew Pack was officially revealed by Epic Games, after having been leaked recently.

Fortnite Crew Pack Reveal
click to enlarge
+ 7

Each month players will receive,

  • Battle Pass Included for the full Season - As a member of the Fortnite Crew, you’ll always have access to the current season’s Battle Pass!
  • 1,000 V-Bucks Each Month - Fortnite Crew members will receive 1,000 V-Bucks every month. Spend it on your favorite Item Shop content!
  • Get A New Monthly Crew Pack! - Get an exclusive Fortnite Crew Pack, an always-new Outfit Bundle that only Fortnite Crew members get. 
Advertisement

The first Crew Pack skin is called Galaxia and will also include the Cosmic Llamacorn Pickaxe and Fractured World Back Bling.

15.00 Patch Notes

With the release of the 15.00 patch, which will start Season 5, we will get patch notes.

Due to Epic Games not releasing full patch notes anymore, we will get a combination of creator patch notes that are sent to creators by Epic Games, and player made patch notes.

Once the 15.00 update goes live we will update this section with the patch notes.