Fortnite Chapter 3, Season 2 COUNTDOWN: Start Date & Time Confirmed, Server Downtime & More

share to other networks share to twitter share to facebook

For various reasons, the transition to Fortnite Chapter 3 Season 2 has been a muted one. Epic have done a great job of developing Chapter 3's story, the lack of a big event to close Season 1 is underwhelming for sure.

Chapter 2 was great, thanks to the sheer quality of the events. To now be closing out the opening season of Chapter 3 with nothing in place does feel weird.

Table of Contents

As the new season gets ever closer, we're counting down to it beginning with all the details you need.

Latest - Downtime underway, Story Trailer revealed!

Downtime has begun for Fortnite Season 2 and we have our first story trailer too!

Advertisement

From it, we have confirmation that Doctor Strange will be arriving on the island as part of the battle pass. We should also have a dedicated battle pass trailer soon too.

Fortnite Chapter 3 Season 2 Start Time Confirmed

Finally, after no teases, Epic has revealed when the downtime for Fortnite Chapter 3 Season 2 will begin.

Advertisement

Downtime will begin at 3am ET/7am GMT on March 20, with the Season 2 update going live shortly after.

Advertisement

The downtime should last for a few hours, with the new content and season being live by late morning.

Since so little has been revealed about the season so far, it'll be exciting to load it up for the first time.

NO TEASES, Season 2 due tomorrow

We were expecting a few teases for Fortnite Season 2 in the days prior to the big event but have been given nothing to work with!

fortnite season 2 teaser
click to enlarge
+ 2

These were due to start on Wednesday, 17 March but typically all we saw was a brand new title image with some colours slightly altered. As for times, it looks likely that Season 1 might run until sometime on Saturday night (PST) before coming down for maintenance and Season 2 going live around 08:00 PST / 11:00 EST / 15:00 GMT

Fortnite Server Downtime

The Fortnite servers will enter extended downtime as the new content for Season 2 is uploaded and patched. We expect this update to be much larger than typical files but still under the 10GB mark.

Advertisement
fortntie star wars
click to enlarge
+ 2

Servers are due to go down late on Saturday, 19 March and not return until early on Sunday, 20 March. The exact timings are hard to come by for now so we will update you once the solid details are confirmed. The lack of any event to close out the season has meant that it's a struggle to place timings on anything.