21 May 2021 2:24 PM +00:00

Hamilton and Verstappen's rivalry set to bubble over in Monaco

The next race weekend of the F1 2021 season is here!

The Monaco Grand Prix practice sessions are already underway, with the drivers set to continue on Saturday.

Read on to find out all the latest.

Jump To

Latest - Ferrari are ‘very close to being a genuine threat’ after practice in Monaco

Sainz, who’s never finished outside the points in Monaco, gave an indication of Ferrari’s pace when he claimed a surprise P2 in Free Practice 1, his time just 0.119s off the Red Bull of Sergio Perez.

f1 ferrari Leclerc sainz 2021
click to enlarge
+ 7
FEROCIOUS FERRARI: Leclerc and Sainz are determined to challenge the front runners

Credit: F1

Advertisement

But then the Spaniard followed that up by heading FP2 for a large portion of the session, before being pipped by a tenth late on by teammate Charles Leclerc – the Ferraris the only cars yet to lap below 1m 12s in Monaco this weekend.

And Sainz was even more impressed with his performance given how much he’d been having to adapt his driving style behind the wheel of the Ferrari SF21.

“We definitely look very close to being a genuine threat,” said Sainz.

Monaco GP Circuit Guide

Overtaking on the tight streets of Monaco is incredibly difficult, with the 2003 Grand Prix witnessing a grand total of zero passing moves!

monaco grand prix f1 circuit
click to enlarge
+ 7
ICONIC TRACK: Nelson Piquet memorably described driving around Monaco as “like riding a bicycle around your living room”

Credit: F1

Advertisement

Number of Laps: 78

Circuit Length: 3.337km

Race Distance: 260.286 km

Lap Record: 1:14.260 Max Verstappen (2018)

Monaco Grand Prix Weekend Timetable

F1 2021 mercedes red bull
click to enlarge
+ 7
RESPECT: Mercedes and Red Bull are no doubt the front runners for the 2021 F1 Championship

Credit: F1

Advertisement

Practice 1 - Thursday, 20 May - 5:30-6:30am / 10:30-11:30am BST / 11:30am-12:30pm CET

Practice 2 - Thursday, 20 May - 9-10am ET / 2-3pm BST / 3-4pm CET

Practice 3 - Saturday, 22 May - 6-7am ET / 11am-12pm BST / 12-1pm CET

Qualifying - Saturday, 22 May - 9-10am ET / 2-3pm BST / 3-4pm CET

Race - Sunday, 23 May - 9-11am ET / 2-4pm BST / 3-5pm CET

How to watch the Monaco Grand Prix

You can watch the Monaco Grand Prix and every other race, qualifying and practise sessions this season, on Sky Sports F1, which costs £18 per month on Sky TV, or £43 per month if you are new to Sky.

f1 daniel ricciardo mclaren
click to enlarge
+ 7
NEW BEGINNINGS: Ricciardo swears to ‘leave nothing on the table’ as McLaren debut approaches

Credit: Formula 1

You can also watch the Monaco Grand Prix using Now TV, which offers Sky Sports Day Passes for £9.98, or monthly passes for £33.99.

Sky Sports Monaco GP Schedule

  • Practice 1 - From 10am on Thursday, 20 May (Sky Sports F1 HD)
  • Practice 2 - From 1:45pm on Thursday, 20 May (Sky Sports F1 HD)
  • Practice 3 - From 10:45am on Saturday, 22 May (Sky Sports F1 HD)
  • Qualifying - From 1pm on Saturday, 22 May (Sky Sports F1 HD)
  • Grand Prix Sunday - From 12:30pm (Race from 2pm) on Sunday, 23 May (Sky Sports F1 HD)
Advertisement

All times UK.

There will also be extended highlights of the Monaco GP on Channel 4.

Channel 4 Spanish GP Schedule

  • Qualifying Highlights - Saturday, 22 May (time tbc)
  • Grand Prix Highlights - Sunday, 23 May (time tbc)

All times UK.

In the USA, it's ESPN that will be providing comprehensive coverage of the 2021 Monaco Grand Prix and provide races on every other circuit in the months to come.

ESPN Monaco Schedule

  • Practice 1 - Friday, 7 May - From 5:25am (ESPN 2)
  • Practice 2 - Friday, 7 May - From 8:55am (ESPN U)
  • Practice 3 - Saturday, 8 May - From 5:55am (ESPN 2)
  • Qualifying - Saturday, 8 May - From 8:55am (ESPN 2)
  • Grand Prix Sunday - Sunday, 9 May - From 7:30am (race at 9am) (ESPN 2)
Advertisement

All times Eastern.

US fans can also watch live F1 on YouTube TV, Sling TV and FuboTV.

McLaren unveil special Monaco livery

McLaren is running a special one-off livery for the Monaco Grand Prix. It's to celebrate their relationship with Gulf, and brings the classic Gulf look to F1.

click to enlarge
+ 7

It has our friends over at RacingGames.GG wondering if Codemasters will ever give F1 players the livery editor needed to make something as iconic as this!

Constructor Standings

The Silver Arrows are pulling ahead in the constructor standings, with both Lewis Hamilton and Valtteri Bottas claiming a spot on the podium in Spain.

Advertisement
f1 2021 constructor standings
click to enlarge
+ 7
MASTERFUL MERCEDES: The Silver Arrows are pulling ahead

McLaren and Ferrari are in a close battle for third place at the moment, with youngster Lando Norris driving so impressively so far.

The Alfa Romeo, Williams and Haas teams are yet to score points so far this season.

Driver Standings

Lewis Hamilton has pulled further into the lead following another excellently driven race which saw the Englishman claim 1st in Spain.

Advertisement
f1 2021 driver standings
click to enlarge
+ 7
SMOOTH SAILING: Lewis Hamilton took yet another 1st place finish at the Spanish Grand Prix

Verstappen is by no means out of the race for the Championship with the season just getting going and trailing the Mercedes driver by just 14 points.

Valtteri Bottas has climbed up to 3rd, leapfrogging McLaren's Lando Norris in the process.

Kimi Raikkonen, Antonio GiovinazziI, Sebastian Vettel, George Russell, Mick Schumacher, Nicholas Latifi and Nikita Mazepin are all yet to score points so far this season.

*RealSport101 may receive a small commission if you click a link from one of our articles onto a retail website and make a purchase. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. For more information, see our Cookie Policy. All prices listed were accurate at the time of publishing.