06 Jul 2021 4:58 PM +00:00

Everything You Need to Know About DOTA 2 The International 10

After the big hiatus of 2020, we are ready to leave that page behind with the return of DOTA 2 competition at the highest level, and all that starts with The International 10.

The DOTA International Tournament (TI) is a mandatory stop. The finals draws more audience from around the world, even bigger than the Super Bowl; not to mention the prize pool of 40 million dollars.

Jump To

Luckily for us and after being suspended for an entire year, the TI10 is right around the corner. Here's everything you need to know about The International 10 - including its qualifying teams, schedule, brackets, prize pool, and more!

The International 10 begins on August 5th

The International 10 is the concluding tournament of the DOTA Pro Circuit 2021 and the tenth annual edition of world championship, which returns to Europe for the first time since 2011.

A poster of the DOTA 2 The International Finals with Stockholm as a background
click to enlarge
STOCKOHOLM AWAITS: All systems go for the DOTA 2 The International Finals on August 5th
  • Location: Avicii Arena in Stockholm
  • Group Stage - August 5th - August 8th, 2021
  • Main Event - August 10th - August 15th, 2021

The tournament reunites the best 18 squads around the world. From those, 12 teams qualify through the DOTA Pro Circuit and the other 6 are the winners of every regional qualifiers.

Invited and qualified teams for TI10

The 12 best teams of the DPC received an invitation to the TI10. China is the team with more representatives (4), followed by North America (2), Western Europe (2) and South America (2).

  • Evil Geniuses (1,600 DPC Points) — North America
  • PSG.LGD (1,200 DPC Points) — China
  • Virtus.pro (1,200 DPC Points) — CIS (Eastern Europe)
  • Quincy Crew (1,100 DPC Points) — North America
  • Invictus Gaming (1,100 DPC Points) — China
  • T1 (1,070 DPC Points) — Southeast Asia
  • Team Secret (950 DPC Points) — Western Europe
  • Vici Gaming (900 DPC Points) — China
  • Team Aster (800 DPC Points) — China
  • Alliance (800 DPC Points) — Western Europe
  • Beastcoast (800 DPC Points) — South America
  • Thunder Predator (800 points) — South America

At the moment we have 4 slots of the 6 teams filled out, on standby for Western Europe and China tournament results.

  • South East Asia: Fanatic
  • North America: Undying
  • CIS (Eastern Europe): Team Spirit
  • South America: SG e-sports
  • China: TBD
  • Western Europe: TBD

Group Stage and Main Event

In the Group Stage, teams are divided into two groups of nine and compete in a best-of-two (BO2) round robin tournament.

  • The top four teams advance to the upper bracket of the main event
  • Position 4 to the 8 will play in the lower bracket
  • Last position of each group is eliminated.

The Main Event is a double-elimination tournament, with the top four teams from each group starting in the upper bracket, while the bottom four teams start in the lower bracket.

  • First round of the lower bracket are one match elimination
  • Grand Final Best of Five (B05)
  • The rest of matches are best of three format (B03)

While we wait for the TI10, we can enjoy DOTA 2 in the best level with the European Qualifier.

Also, here's a reminder of how exciting the tournament can get: