Destiny 2 09 Feb 2021 11:49 AM +00:00

Destiny 2 Servers Down Before Season of the Chosen Start Today

+ 1
Advertisement

Destiny 2 has been taken offline ahead of Bungie introducing the latest season – Season of the Chosen – to Xbox, PS4, PS5, PC and Stadia players.

Advertisement

The game will be offline for around 75 minutes in total as the developers begin the long process of updating the game's content in line with the start of Season 13.

Though the company has outlined the downtime schedule – which you can see below – it's worth noting that these things never run particularly smoothly.

We've lost count how many times a game has promised to come back online only to have to extend maintenance in the process.

Read More - Destiny 2 Season of the Chosen Live Updates

The schedule should be taken more as a guideline, not a certainty of how things will go tonight – we've certainly seen enough updates and downtime schedules in our time to know that sometimes they overrun.

For all the latest breaking news, it's worth setting up a notification for the Bungie Help Twitter account. Alternatively, bookmark this page and we'll keep you up to speed.

When the game's new season does go live today, there will be a slew of changes and a robust set of patch notes detailing all the key tweaks made to the meta.

Advertisement
The Destiny Strike 'Devil's Lair' is making a comeback in Season of the Chosen
click to enlarge
The Destiny Strike 'Devil's Lair' is making a comeback in Season of the Chosen

Bungie has already published some smaller 3.10 patch notes for the game, but we can certainly expect more to be revealed once the game is back online.

We'll keep you updated as we learn more. For now, here's a look at the downtime schedule as detailed by Bungie; which as we say, should be taken solely as a guide and not set in stone.

Destiny 2 Downtime Schedule

  • 8 AM PST (1600 UTC): Maintenance begins.
  • 8:45 AM PST (1645 UTC): Players are removed from activities. Destiny 2 is brought offline. 
  • 9 AM PST (1700 UTC): Update 3.1.0 will be available across all platforms and regions. Players will be able to log back into Destiny 2. 
  • 10 AM PST (1800 UTC): Destiny 2 maintenance is expected to conclude. 
Advertisement

*RealSport101 may receive a small commission if you click a link from one of our articles onto a retail website and make a purchase. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. For more information, see our Cookie Policy. All prices listed were accurate at the time of publishing.