RealSport101 Decal

Cyberpunk 2077

08 Dec 2020

Cyberpunk 2077 File Size: Preload info, Times, Day 1 Patch & Early Access

Jump To
link decal

How large is Cyberpunk 2077?

link decal

When does the preload start?

link decal

What happens if you try and play the game now?

link decal

How to play Cyberpunk 2077 on 9 December

Considering the release date for Cyberpunk 2077 is approaching, there are several things to keep in mind.

One of them is to check if you have enough space on your console or PC to install the game.

How large is Cyberpunk 2077?

According to this Twitter account, these are the sizes of the game files on each platform:

  • PlayStation – 102GB (Full game plus update 1.02)
  • Xbox - 60GB
  • PC (GOG) - 60GB

You need to see if this will be the final size on Xbox and PC, especially since the game will have two patches before its release.

Xbox Series X event countdown
A WHOLE NEW WORLD - We can't wait to tackle Night City

Plus, file sizes could be larger on PS5 and Xbox Series X than their previous gen counterparts.

Keep in mind that this doesn't take into account patches that may come after release, so there's probably an increase even though we don't expect it to be much.

When does the preload start?

The start of the preload varies depending on the platform you are on.

EfFA7P7WkAEHDO0
LIGHT IT UP – Johnny Silverhand lives in the mind of V, Cyberpunk's protagonist

Xbox users were able to pre-load from Thursday, 3 December.

Next up PC users, with preloading starting on Monday, 7 December and the last to be accessed will be Playstation users until Tuesday, 8 December.

What happens if you try and play the game now?

Despite pre-loads being open, many players have chanced their arm and attempted to get into the game early.

However, CD Projekt Red knew people would be too impatient and decided to add a little Easter Egg for fans.

Johnny Silverhand (Keanu Reeves) will tell you to "Go back to sleep, Samurai! It's not December 10th yet."

How to play Cyberpunk 2077 on 9 December

Through some platforms, you can get playing Cyberpunk 2077 before the rest.

PIMP MY RIDE - Vehicles could be the most epic part of Cyberpunk 2077
PIMP MY RIDE - Vehicles could be the most epic part of Cyberpunk 2077

PCs supporting Steam, GOG and Epic Games Store can actually get playing before the rest.

These are the times and locations you can play early on:

  • Los Angeles – 4pm PT
  • Mexico City – 6pm CST
  • New York – 7pm ET
  • Bogota – 7pm COT
  • Brasillia – 9pm BRT

Those who know their time zones will see this line's up with a 12am GMT release for those in the UK.