16 Jun 2021 11:06 AM +00:00

When does the new Main Quest start for Season 4's Outbreak update?

There's a new season of content coming to Black Ops Cold War and that means Outbreak is getting an update. This time around, though, the update is actually quite important. Here's everything you need to know about what's included and when the new Outbreak Easter Egg is due to start.

When Does The Main Quest Start?

"Operation Excision" is the name Treyarch are giving the next stage of the Outbreak Easter Egg/Main Quest. It's being pitched as a "narrative prologue to Mauer der Toten".

The Black Ops Cold War update is due to go live at 21:00 PST (June 16th) / 00:00 EST / 05:00 BST; However, the Outbreak Easter Egg is scheduled to start a little later at 10:00 PST / 13:00 EST / 18:00 BST. This gives everyone a chance to be on the same page going into it, update-wise.

Advertisement
Black Ops Cold War Season 4 New Outbreak Easter Egg Start Zoo
click to enlarge
+ 2
RIDE HARD, DIE LAST - Dirt Bikes are going to help you a whole lot in Outbreak

We don't know too much about it, though, other than the following...

" Now that players have braved the dangers lurking beneath the Ural Mountains, taken on the terrifying Legion, and foiled Omega’s plans for “Operatsiya Inversiya,” it’s time to take things up a notch."
Advertisement

Season 4 Outbreak Update Details

The new Main Quest isn't the only thing coming to Outbreak in the Black Ops Cold War Season 4 update. There's also a new Outbreak Region: Zoo.

This was a long-rumoured Fireteam map with several people suggesting it might play a bigger part in a new Warzone map. At least now we've had some questions answered. We're expecting to see Zoo added to the Multi-Team playlists in the mid-season update, but this hasn't been confirmed yet.

Black Ops Cold War Season 4 New Outbreak Easter Egg Start Zoo
click to enlarge
+ 2
SINK OR SWIM - The Zoo Outbreak Region is going to hold a few more secrets than you care for

On top of this, there's going to be a new selection of collectable intel scattered throughout Outbreak and new Treyarch Zombies Tracks to unlock in the Music Player. You'll need to complete the new "Unknown Signal" World Events for these, though.

At the moment, there's no word on a new Zombies Perk or new Ammo Modification add-ons. We're expecting to hear more about these when Mauer der Toten drops in a few weeks, though. For now, here's the latest intel...