13 Aug 2021 9:32 AM +00:00

The next major Warzone update is finally here and here's everything we know

Jump To

Warzone's next major title update is here and there are a few things to look out for. We know Verdansk '84 isn't really going to be changing a lot just yet, but there's a couple of Black Ops Cold War weapons and Operators coming alongside the Season 5 Battle Pass. Here's everything you need to know.

UPDATE - Season 5 Battle Pass highlights

Sadly, we're not getting any Modern Warfare content in the Season 5 Battle Pass. There's a couple of great-looking Operator Skins in there and a few Weapon Blueprints you're going to want to check out.

This is the Rebel Leader Operator Skin for Garcia - a Tier 0 reward:

Advertisement
Black Ops Cold War Season 5 Battle Pass
click to enlarge
+ 5
REBEL REBEL - This has to be Garcia's best Operator Skin, right?

There's also the Red Torpedo Weapon Blueprint - a Tier 55 reward:

Advertisement
Black Ops Cold War Season 5 Battle Pass KRIG
click to enlarge
+ 5
THE HUNT BEGINS - We're not going to complain with this!

The Tier 100 Ultra-Rarity Kitsune skin is going to be the one to go after, though. It looks insane...

Advertisement
Black Ops Cold War Season 5 Battle Pass
click to enlarge
+ 5
DEADLY - This is one of the best Operator Skins we've seen so far!

There's going to be around 1,300 COD Points included in the Season 5 Battle Pass, which is more than enough to get the next one!

PREVIOUS UPDATE - Season 5 release pushed back

We don't know why Activision has opted to delay the release of Season 5, but they have. At the moment, all we know is that the Season 4 Battle Pass has been pushed back 24 hours and this means that Season 5 is probably going to start at least 24 hours later than previously anticipated.

Advertisement

If we're looking at a 24-hour delay and nothing more, we should see the Season 5 update release at the following times:

  • 21:00 August 12th - PST
  • 00:00 August 13th - EST
  • 05:00 August 13th - BST
Advertisement

Activision should confirm the delay and release a statement explaining why later today. This could be from anywhere between 09:00 PST / 12:00 EST / 17:00 BST and 12:00 PST / 15:00 EST / 20:00 BST. We will keep you updated.

PREVIOUS UPDATE - Preload Information

Unfortunately, it seems like preload is not going to be available for Warzone for the Season 5 update.

While you can preload the Black Ops Cold War update from midnight EST / 5am BST on August 11, nothing has been said about Warzone.

If anything changes and you are able to, we'll be sure to let you know.

warzone, season 5
click to enlarge
+ 5

PREVIOUS UPDATE - Download Size

Advertisement

As of the time of writing, the download size for the Warzone Season 5 update has not been revealed. The full details will come alongside the patch notes, presumably in the afternoon of August 10.

We expect the Warzone Season 5 Update to be around 10-15 GB, as it has been for previous seasons.

That being said, if you're playing on console, you'll likely need a lot more free space available on your system.

Upwards of 100GB of free space will be needed to install the update, even though the space will be free again once the install is complete.

Content Roadmap

Raven have revealed the content roadmap for Season 5, which outlines what's new over the next few weeks.

warzone, season 5, roadmap
click to enlarge
+ 5

It goes over the new weapons, operators, new maps changes, and LTMs, and shows what should come as part of the mid-season update.

Advertisement

Patch Notes & New Features

If you're looking for more detail on the new features, you can check out the official Warzone Season 5 breakdown on the Call of Duty website.

It runs through every new feature in full detail.