11 Aug 2021 12:29 PM +00:00

Following a delay, Warzone's Season 5 update has a new release time

Jump To

Warzone's Season 5 update is right around the corner but it looks like the previously-confirmed release time for Warzone's Season 5 content is going to be pushed back. Here's everything we know and the latest updates on the situation.

UPDATE - Season 5 release delayed by Activision

At the moment, we don't know why Activision has opted to push back Season 5 by (at least) 24 hours but this means the Season 4 Battle Pass has been extended.

It also means that Season 5 now has an updated release date of the following:

  • 21:00 August 12th - PST
  • 00:00 August 13th - EST
  • 05:00 August 13th - BST
Advertisement

Activision is expected to confirm the delay and offer a statement as to why later today. This could be from anywhere between 09:00 PST / 12:00 EST / 17:00 BST and 12:00 PST / 15:00 EST / 20:00 BST. Statements often come at varying times.

When does Season 5 begin?

Warzone Season 4 was originally expected to end on August 10th, however, Raven Software has confirmed when we should expect Season 5 to start.

As you can see in the tweet below, Warzone Season 5 is due to start simultaneously with Black Ops Cold War Season 5 on August 12th. This means we should see the Season 4 Battle Pass extended slightly to account for this.

At the moment, we know about the new weapons and Black Ops Cold War Operators coming to Warzone. Raven Software is expected to release their update's patch notes with any balancing changes and details on the new content in the next few days...

Advertisement

What about the specific time?

This is something that is a little more complicated to predict, as on-the-day delays are far more likely. Still, we can look at the previous title updates and seasonal changes to gauge what time we should expect Warzone Season 5 to release on all platforms.

Warzone's Season Four content was released alongside Black Ops Cold War Season 4 at 21:00 PST / 00:00 EST / 05:00 BST (June 17) on June 16th. With this in mind, we should see the next season of Warzone content arrive at the same time on August 10th (or August 11th depending on your timezone).

Due to the integration between the two titles, the content in Black Ops Cold War is released at the same time as it is on Warzone. There are a few exceptions, like the Baseball Bat, where it has been delayed. However, for the most part, the content is simultaneously launched. Warzone's preloading doesn't start until around 24 hours before launch, though. So, if you see Black Ops Cold War downloading the update a bit earlier... Don't worry. Warzone's update is coming soon.