16 Sep 2021 9:22 AM +00:00

Does the Call of Duty Vanguard Beta have Crossplay features on console?

Call of Duty, nowadays, is a fully integrated system - You can skip from Modern Warfare to Black Ops Cold War with ease via the updated menu system, there's cross-progression, and Warzone has a combination of content from Modern Warfare and Black Ops Cold War. Vanguard, though, isn't really out yet. Does that mean we're going to see Crossplay features in the Vanguard Beta this weekend? It is on Xbox, PlayStation, and PC now... Here's what we know.

CROSSPLAY FEATURES - Is the Vanguard Beta going to have them?

This weekend, the Call of Duty Vanguard Beta is going to be available on Xbox One, Xbox Series X|S, PlayStation 4, PlayStation 5, and PC via Battle.net - last weekend, it was only on PlayStation consoles. With Crossplay features included on Warzone and Black Ops Cold War, raising questions about them in regards to the Vanguard Beta is fair.

Thankfully, it isn't really much of a mystery. The second weekend of the Vanguard Beta is referred to in numerous official communications as the "Crossplay Beta". So... Yeah. The Vangaurd Beta is going to have Crossplay features this weekend.

Advertisement

If you've pre-ordered Vangaurd on Xbox and PC - or if you're a PlayStation player - you'll be able to jump into the Vanguard Beta from September 16th at around 10:00 PST / 13:00 EST / 18:00 BST. If not, you'll have to wait for the Open Beta period to begin on September 18th at around 10:00 PST / 13:00 EST / 18:00 BST.

ENABLE OR DISABLE - How do you toggle them?

At the moment, as Call of Duty Vanguard's last Beta outing didn't have Crossplay features, we're not fully sure on how to toggle them.

However, looking at Warzone and Black Ops Cold War... We can hazard a guess that it will be somewhat the same. The UI of the Vanguard menu in the Vanguard Beta is strikingly similar to the Warzone menu and you should find that a lot of the same options are available given the fact that Vanguard is running on an updated version of the same game engine.

Advertisement

With this in mind, you should be able to check out the "Account" section of the Options menu and select "Enabled" or "Disabled" for Crossplay features. It's really that easy! If it isn't here in the Vangaurd Beta, it will be in the "Network" section of the menu.

Like Warzone, we assume that Vanguard will have Crossplay features enabled by default when you log into it later today - or on September 18th!