Battlefield 2042: Do you need PS Plus to play the Open Beta?

Jump To

Battlefield 2042 is finally on the way and the Open Beta is in touching distance - however, do you need an active PS Plus subscription to play the Battlefield 2042 Open Beta and the full release of the game? It's not free, but it is a multiplayer-only experience. Here's everything we know about that so far...

OPEN BETA - Do you need PS Plus?

According to BravoIntel, you won't actually need an active PS Plus subscription if you want to participate in the Battlefield 2042 Open Beta.

FULL RELEASE - Do you need PS Plus then?

Advertisement

We don't really know, at the moment. Usually, it's just free-to-play games that are free to play on PS Plus. For example, you don't need an active PS Plus membership to play Fortnite. However, you do need one to play Call of Duty Black Ops Cold War's multiplayer.

The Battlefield 2042 Open Beta is free-to-play without an active PS Plus membership, however, the full game isn't free. With this in mind, we don't think it's going to apply...

EA hasn't stated otherwise - and until they do, we would suggest picking up a PS Plus membership if you want to play Battlefield 2042 when it releases on November 19th.

START DATE - When does the Open Beta begin?

The Battlefield 2042 Beta is going to open in two stages: firstly, for people who have pre-ordered Battlefield 2042 and EA Play members - then, for everyone else.

This means you should be able to access the Battlefield Beta at the following times:

  • Early Access - Preorders and EA Play
    • 00:00 PST - October 6th
    • 03:00 EST - October 6th
    • 08:00 BST - October 6th
  • General Access - Open Beta for everyone
    • 00:00 PST - October 8th
    • 03:00 EST - October 8th
    • 08:00 BST - October 8th

" Adapt and overcome in the near-future, all-out war of Battlefield 2042. Put boots on the ground in the classic Conquest mode on Orbital – a map where enemy fire and chaotic weather conditions can help or hinder your fight."

You should also be able to start preloading the Battlefield 2042 Open Beta at the following times on October 5th:

  • 00:00 PST
  • 03:00 EST
  • 08:00 BST
Advertisement

Happy hunting, soldier!